Cosmic Compositions Avant Garde Series Vol​​.​​2 [Alice Coltrane]

by Cosmic Compositions

supported by
/
  • Immediate download of 23-track album in the high-quality format of your choice (MP3, FLAC, and more). Paying supporters also get unlimited mobile access using the free Bandcamp listening app.

     name your price

     

1.
2.
3.
03:17
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.

about

// Free Download //

We feel there is a huge similarity between the Avant-Garde/Free Jazz movement of the 50's & 60's & the beat movement of Today. As both movements attempted to break down, extend & alter the conventions of their original genres (Jazz & Hip Hop) & were never afraid to experiment & improvise to create something that wasn't accepted commercially at the time.

This compilation is a dedication to American jazz pianist, organist, harpist and composer Alice Coltrane.

''She was central to the Indocentric/Spiritual jazz of the early '70s and arguably the first instance of a female instrumentalist assuming a defining role in a jazz subgenre. She spent the majority of her life seeking spiritually in both music and her private life & shared her husband's [Jazz Legend John Coltrane] instincts in taking great artistic risks to pursue a spiritual quest.'' - Jazz Times

Huge thanks to all the artists who contributed tracks to this compilation

Mieksneak [USA] : soundcloud.com/mieksneak
Stainless Steele [USA] : soundcloud.com/stainless_steele
Wodoo Wolcan [Switzerland] : soundcloud.com/wodoowolcan
Iller - Abstract Giraffe [Sweden] soundcloud.com/rymdstationen
shak. [Netherlands] : soundcloud.com/shaktajiri
Melodiesinfonie [Switzerland] : soundcloud.com/melodiesinfonie
Roane Namuh : www.roanenamuh.com
Christoph El Truento [New Zealand] : soundcloud.com/christoph_el_truento
Ben Jamin' [New Zealand] : soundcloud.com/influencebeats
Amin Payne [NZ/Australia] : soundcloud.com/amin-payne
FloFilz [Germany] : soundcloud.com/flofills
Matt Miller [New Zealand] : soundcloud.com/mattmiller
Nahm-Sayn [Denmark] : soundcloud.com/nahm-sayn
Swallow Fly Low [UK] soundcloud.com/swallowsflylow
Kadugodi [UK] : soundcloud.com/kadugodi
Eil Colburn [USA] : soundcloud.com/elicolburn
Noyce [UK] : soundcloud.com/noyce
Oisima [Australia] : soundcloud.com/oisima
Noo-Bap [Canada] : soundcloud.com/noo-bap
IAMNOBODI [Germany] : soundcloud.com/iamnobodi
JayLotus [USA] : soundcloud.com/iamjaylotus
Scruffnuk Dust : soundcloud.com/scruffnuk-dust

Next Compilation: Sun Ra.

Album Artwork By : Nate James [ cargocollective.com/ntjms ]

Email : cosmic.compositions@gmail.com

credits

released 10 April 2013

tags

license

all rights reserved

feeds

feeds for this album, this artist