Cosmic Compositions Avant Garde Series Vol​​​.​​​3 [Sun Ra]

by Cosmic Compositions

supported by
subscribers:
/
  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

     $7 USD  or more

     

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
31.
32.
33.
34.

about

Vinyl Pre- Order :: www.hhv.de/shop/de/specials/cosmic-compositions-avant-garde-series/ansicht:l

This compilation is a free/name your price download with all money raised being donated to the Philippines typhoon relief fund..

We feel there is a huge similarity between the Avant-Garde/Free Jazz movement of the 50's & 60's & the beat movement of Today. As both movements attempted to break down, extend & alter the conventions of their original genres (Jazz & Hip Hop) & were never afraid to experiment & improvise to create something that wasn't accepted commercially at the time.

This compilation is a dedication to Saturn born composer, bandleader, piano and synthesizer player, poet and philosopher ~ Sun Ra.

About Sun Ra ~ Claiming that he was of the "Angel Race" and not from Earth, but from Saturn, Sun Ra developed a complex persona using "cosmic" philosophies and lyrical poetry that made him a pioneer of afrofuturism, free jazz. & electronic music. Sun Ra & his Arkestra's discography is one of the largest in music history and he is often regarded as one of the prolific recording artists of the 20th century. After departing Earth in 1993 Sun Ra legacy in music continues to influence artists worldwide and has changed the world of music as we know it. We hope that through this compilation we can introduce a new generation to his music and philosophies..

For more information of Sun Ra and the great influence he's had on the music world we suggest you read this article from our friend Le Shawn Taylor ~ potholesinmyblog.com/the-importance-of-sun-ra/

Huge thanks to all the artists who contributed tracks to this compilation & also to those whose tracks didn't make it onto the top 30.. We appreciate you all

Kamaho Adisa ~ soundcloud.com/kamaho-adisa
Christoph El Truento ~ soundcloud.com/christoph_el_truento
N.O.M.A.D ~ soundcloud.com/nomad1
Zeroh ~ soundcloud.com/eyejustwant
Low Leaf ~ soundcloud.com/lowleaf
Iller The Abstract Giraffe ~ soundcloud.com/rymdstationen
Wun Two ~ soundcloud.com/wun-two
Whoarei ~ soundcloud.com/whoarei
FloFilz ~ soundcloud.com/flofills
Stainless Steele ~ soundcloud.com/stainless_steele
David Straange ~ soundcloud.com/davidstraange
Jublet ~ soundcloud.com/jublet
Ben Jamin ~ soundcloud.com/influencebeats
Melodiesinfonie ~ soundcloud.com/melodiesinfonie
Dave Spark ~ soundcloud.com/davesparkz
Camillo Fritanga ~ soundcloud.com/camillo-fritanga
S.F.T ~ soundcloud.com/sftbeats
Swallows Fly Low ~ soundcloud.com/swallowsflylow
Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo ~ www.facebook.com/YathaBhutaJazzCombo
Ewonee The Beatnik ~ soundcloud.com/ewonee-thee-beatnik
Nahm-Sayn ~ soundcloud.com/nahm-sayn
Lord Akton ~ soundcloud.com/lord-acton
Tuamie ~ soundcloud.com/tuamie
10th Letter ~ soundcloud.com/10th-letter
Grass Mirror ~ soundcloud.com/grassmirror
AceMo ~ soundcloud.com/acemo
Isaac Aesili ~ soundcloud.com/isaacaesili
Mono:Massive ~ soundcloud.com/mono-massive
Jelani ~ soundcloud.com/jelaniofficial
Eli Colburn ~ soundcloud.com/elicolburn
Tony Douglas ~ soundcloud.com/theetonydouglas
AshtreJenkins ~ soundcloud.com/thinkinjinkins
Dutchmassive ~ soundcloud.com/dutchmassive
DR.M∆D ~ soundcloud.com/docmad

Album Artwork By : Jordan Cuthers Clark [ nativefunkk.tumblr.com ]

Email : cosmic.compositions@gmail.com

credits

released 21 November 2013

tags

license

all rights reserved

feeds

feeds for this album, this artist