Cosmic Compositions Avant Garde Series Vol​.​1 [Pharoah Sanders]

by Cosmic Compositions

supported by
Ollie Hutton
Ollie Hutton thumbnail
Ollie Hutton Awe some stuff. Favorite track: Cosmic Compositions.
Alex
Alex thumbnail
Alex Beautiful beats that writhe and slumber around the Pharoah's magical sax. I know I'll enjoy this mix for years. Favorite track: Q & A.
Ola Myhrman
Ola Myhrman thumbnail
Ola Myhrman Dope track from an overall laidback beat excursion-compilation that borrows elements from the great Pharaoh Sanders. Favorite track: Nubian Riot.
Aaron C. Hollis
Aaron C. Hollis thumbnail
Aaron C. Hollis It's hard to think of a more disserving figure for a comp like this than Pharoah Sanders. Reinterpreting and utilizing his music in such inventive and unique means is the best way to pay respect to such an accomplished musician. This music is reminiscent of the Jazz it utilizes, free and moving. Favorite track: Nubian Riot.
K15
K15 thumbnail
K15 My favourite song on here changes with each listen. Right now, it's Nubian Root. That's what happens when an ENTIRE ALBUM IS BEAUTIFUL. Favorite track: Nubian Riot.
Michael Upton
Michael Upton thumbnail
Michael Upton K*Saba's track is a stunner from start to finish, but really goes somewhere unexpected when Auckland MC Hone Be Good (Side Steps Quintet) drops in towards the end. Favorite track: Nubian Riot.
more...
/
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price

     

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.

about

C C 0 0 1

We've always felt there was a huge similarity between the Avant-Garde/Free Jazz movement of the 50's & 60's & the beat movement of Today. As both movements attempted to break down, extend & alter the conventions of their original genres (Jazz & Hip Hop) & were never afraid to experiment & improvise to create something that wasn't accepted commercially at the time. Therefor we decided to put together the avant garde series compilations which attempts to connect the dots between the two sounds//cultures as well as paying homage to some of the first free thought musicans.

We will be putting together a Series of Compilations dedicated to some of the pioneers of the Avant-Garde Jazz Movement.

This compilation is paying homage to legendary jazz saxophonist Pharoah Sanders & all tracks feature various producers taking his sounds & approach then reworking it into its their own.

Huge thank y ou to all the artists who contributed tracks to this compilation

K*Saba (New Zealand) : soundcloud.com/k-saba
Christoph El Truento (New Zealand) : soundcloud.com/christoph_el_truento
Iller The Abstract Giraffe (Sweden) : soundcloud.com/rymdstationen
Oisima (Australia) : soundcloud.com/oisima
Ackryte (USA) : soundcloud.com/ackryte
Dutchmassive (USA) : soundcloud.com/dutchmassive
Matt Miller (New Zealand) : soundcloud.com/mattmiller
The Pilots (Netherlands) : soundcloud.com/thepilots
Thallus (Germany) : soundcloud.com/thallus
Third3ye (New Zealand) : soundcloud.com/third3yemusic
HoneBeGood (New Zealand) : soundcloud.com/honebegood
Nahm-Sayn (Denmark) : soundcloud.com/nahm-sayn
@Peace (New Zealand) : www.facebook.com/peacebeat
Tuamie (USA) : soundcloud.com/tuamie
Scruffnuk Dust : soundcloud.com/scruffnuk-dust
Kakapo (New Zealand) : soundcloud.com/kakapo-music
Amin Payne (NZ/Australia) : soundcloud.com/amin-payne
Ann Arbor (France) : soundcloud.com/annarbor
Twit One (Germany) : soundcloud.com/twit-one
Ben Jamin' (New Zealand) : soundcloud.com/influencebeats
Andherpackage (Japan) : soundcloud.com/naototaguchi
Wodoo Wolcan (Switzerland) : soundcloud.com/wodoowolcan

Artwork By : Jordan Cuthers-Clark

Email :: cosmic.compositions@gmail.com

// Vinyl Available at hhv.de //

www.hhv.de/shop/de/specials/cosmic-compositions-avant-garde-series/ansicht:l

credits

released October 22, 2012

tags

license

all rights reserved

about

Cosmic Compositions Auckland, New Zealand

▒░▒░▒░▒░▒░▒░▒░

contact / help

Contact Cosmic Compositions

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code